Holiday Gifting Part 1- For The Boys

Gifting time is rapidly approaching us and there’s no way of pressing pause. Every year around this time I start to get a lot of anxiety. I always want people to LOVE their gift. Obviously. But, I throw myself into this time and get so caught up in my thoughts worrying about if the intended person is going to love it that I completely lose track of what this time is really about. I re-think my purchases over and over again until I’m almost too embarrassed to give the present away. No wonder the holiday’s are a stressful time.

I know I could go about and find a million different holiday gift guides out there, but to be honest, a huge amount of those ideas just don’t pertain to the people in my life. Especially the men (who are definitely the HARDEST to buy for). My husband will never wear a scarf. My Dad is not into personalized anything, let alone whiskey glasses. My father-in-law will probably never use a Multi-Sport GPS watch (what is that even?!). And did I mention I’m on a budget? I can’t afford a $400 speaker system for each of them, but thanks for the suggestion.

Today, I put together a list, that in my opinion, is budget friendly and something the everyday man would like to see under his tree.

1. Fit Bit – $99.95

Taken from the FitBit website: This slim, stylish device is with you all the time. During the day, it tracks steps, distance, and calories burned. At night, it tracks your sleep quality and wakes you silently in the morning.

Mr. R has this on his Christmas list. He’s a fitness junky (religiously attends the gym – daily) and avid napper. I’m sure he will love this.

2. The North Face Fleece – $65.00

'Paramount Grid' Quarter Zip Fleece Pullover

This is a multi-use sweatshirt that any man could benefit from. It’s great for the fitness junky, the outdoors man, or the man who likes to sit on the couch and watch football on Sunday’s mornings. It can be used to throw on for a few quick errands running around town or for a casual date night.

3. Watches – Nordstrom men’s watches under $150

Our first Christmas together, I had zero idea as to what to get my mister. I toyed with ideas up until Christmas Eve. Since I couldn’t possibly wait another minute to find a gift, I took a shot in the dark and purchased a watch for him. It was a Fossil gunmetal watch. I was hoping it would be something he liked, he didn’t necessarily have to wear it every day but I was just hoping he would wear it. Turns out he LOVED it. It was the best reaction to a gift I have ever bought and I’m so glad I bought him one. Since then, I have bought him two more watches to add to his collection, one last Christmas and another for our wedding. It never fails that he always loves a watch.

4. Headphones – $99.95

SoundTrue™ In-Ear Headphones

I don’t know many people who don’t need a nice pair of headphones. They are great for working out (Dad and Ryan), traveling – plug into your iPad and enjoy a nice movie (my father-in-law spends a lot of time on airplanes), listening to music by the pool (anyone and everyone), etc.

Between my husband and I, one of us is always loosing a pair of headphones or misplacing them – so this is why it makes the perfect gift!

5. Toiletry Case – $25.00

Whenever any of the men in my family pack their bags for vacation, they always put their toiletries in a Ziploc baggie. Or in one of my floral printed cosmetic bags. I think we may need to upgrade them to the 21st century and gift them a toiletry bag. And what’s manlier than a camo print?! Fill it up with a few travel essentials or splurge and add in his favorite cologne.

Gifting can be hard work. Especially for the men. Can I get an amen?! But I hope this list has given you the perfect gift option or at the very least sparked a gift idea option.

Leave a Reply

