AM Skincare Routine

I’m not sure what is going on lately, but my skin has been misbehaving. I’m constantly waking up and noticing new blemishes on my face. 25 years old and I still have acne. Sweet.

I think I’ve tried everything under the sun to fix this issue. Proactive, Neutrogena, Clinique’s Acne line, expensive skin care brands, visiting a dermatologist… You name it, I’m sure I’ve tried it. I’ve even been on antibiotics for the past 2 years (yes, it seems extreme) to try and combat problem skin. The drugs were working for awhile but I think my body has grown immune to it. It is a constant cycle of drying out my oily face and then correcting the dryness with moisture. Right back to square one. #ugh #thestruggleisreal

I’m hoping my new regimen offers some relief sooner rather than later, otherwise, I might just give up and join a convent.. Except I think I’m already married so I probably can’t do that. Hmph. My morning skin care has been looking a lot like this..

IMG_1696 Murad Clarifying Cleanser – I started using THIS Murad cleanser a couple weeks ago and that’s when I started seeing problems. It may be due to that but it’s too expensive to just stop using. I’ll try it for a few more weeks and see if anything improves. Otherwise, it’s being returned to Ulta. IMG_1698 Clinique Clarifying Lotion 3 – This is for combination/oily skin. I’ve been using THIS for years and years. It helps soak up extra oil and clear away dead skin cells that are sitting on the top layer of your face ( I used to work for this company so I may know a thing or two about their line). It makes your face feel squeaky clean. I love this stuff and don’t ever go without a toner in my regimen. IMG_1697 Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Moisturizer with Pink Grapefruit – During the day I like to use a light facial moisturizer. I just picked up this new one from Neutrogena. It has a pleasant grapefruit scent and feels very light on the skin. Plus, it’s oil free which is a huge must for me and contains salicylic acid, a common ingredient known to help fight bacteria that leads to acne, but offers enough moisture to help acne-pained skin. I couldn’t find this exact stuff online anywhere, but I did purchase mine at Wal-Mart. IMG_1699 Clinique All About Eyes – Last but not least, I always use an eye cream. The winter months in Wisconsin wreck havoc on the sensitive skin around my eyes and I need something moisturizing that’s not too heavy and won’t make my eye makeup slide off during the day. THIS is from Clinique and I love it. This stuff actually comes in two formulas. There is a gel which is great for the day and a cream which works well at night when a little extra moisture won’t be a problem. It doesn’t have any effects to help diminish fine-lines or wrinkles but if you’re looking for a product that does that  AND has moisturizing benefits, I would recommend THIS stuff. It’s been tested and has been known to work better than the stuff with the $200 price tag. Which one would you choose? IMG_1700 If you have tried anything that helps with any acne/skin problems, please share! I will try just about anything at this point!

2 thoughts on “AM Skincare Routine

  1. Kim Hoggatt says:

    I love Murad products!! If your skin is breaking out maybe the product is working. When you find the right product it draws all the bad out of the clogged pores until your skin gets rid of it so your skin gets worse for a few months then clears up for good. I think salicylic acid is the worst thing to put on your skin. Very drying! You should go get a facial from the gals at massage envy and they can help you choose the right products. I fought this battle for years and finally know how to deal with it 🙂

    Like

    • mrsretherford14 says:

      Thanks for the advice! I was so close to returning this product. It’s so aggravating wanting a product to do it’s job and it doesn’t. I will stick to it though! Any other Murad products you would recommend?

      Like

Leave a Reply

