The Minimalist

When it comes to makeup, I used to think more is more and the more, the better. I would layer on the foundation, concealer, powder and more powder. You could’ve just given me some spackle while you were at it and I would’ve gladly applied that as well. Oh, to be young and dumb. Now that I have a 9-5 job, spending lots of time in the mirror applying layers of makeup isn’t really allotted in the amount of time I have in the mornings. Plus, wearing mask-like makeup isn’t exactly my thing anymore and I’m wondering why I ever thought it was… Woof.

Thankfully, I’ve blossomed into quite the mature lady since then. Just kidding, I’m still pretty immature, but I am proud to say I figured out that “less is more,” when it comes to my makeup look. In my 25 years here on earth, that’s what I’ve mastered. My parents must be so proud.

tyrtyretyyret

First, I apply my concealer. I have about 33 different concealers in my arsenal, but the one I reach for in this look, is from Maybelline. I pat a bit on my under eye and my eyelid just to brighten things up.

Second, I take a cream shadow. I like the Fuller Fudge Chubby Stick from Clinique or Maybelline Color Tattoo Cream Shadow in Tough as Taupe. I pat some of that all over the lid until it looks blended. This has given me so much extra time in the morning since I’m not using 3 different shadows and blending them until the cows come home. One cream shadow all over the lid and I’m good to go with enough time in the morning to run through Starbucks! Priorities, people!

After my cream shadow is applied, I go and apply my foundation. I love a powder foundation for the convenience it allows. I swirl my Bare Minerals Kabuki Brush in my PUR Minerals Pressed Mineral Makeup and buff it into my skin until I get the coverage I want. I love how you can layer mineral makeup and it settles into your skin and it looks natural and not cakey.

Once my foundation is applied, I go and add the fun stuff… Bronzer and blush! I need a little color to look and alive and that’s why I love my Bobbi Brown Pale Pink blush. It looks scary and un-wearable in the pan, but once it’s on your skin, it looks natural and beautiful. Then I add my bronzer – I add just a bit to give my face some life and a nice healthy glow. I love NARS Laguna Bronzer and Tarte’s Park Ave Princess Bronzer. Both are a must have in my makeup bag, especially with the summer coming up.

After all the powders are applied, then it’s time for mascara! I always do mascara last if I’m working with powders because I don’t like tiny flecks of powder on my stark, black, eyelashes. Plus, the extra powder on your lashes actually helps build them up a bit more for added volume. I’ve recently fallen in love with Tarte’s Lights, Camera, Lashes. It is well worth all twenty bones that it cost me. It gives me the biggest, longest lashes that no other mascara has done before. I can’t imagine how life was before this gem came into my life. Seriously.

Lastly, I apply a natural lip color or a chapstick to my lips. Chanel Boy seems to be my go-to for a natural lip with a bit of shine and moisture. If I feel like I need it, I’ll fill in my eyebrows ever so slightly with Anastasia’s Brow Whiz. And then I’m done!

It seems like a lot of steps but it’s SO easy and it’s perfect for a work morning or an easy weekend look. You’ll look natural and put together and way more mature! Wink-wink.

Leave a Reply

