FitBit: A Review

Let me just start by saying that I do not have an athletic bone in my body. I squeaked my way through dance for 10 years and made the JV tennis team my Junior year of high school, simply because there was no “try-out” period and they just needed enough girls to make a team. My partner and I lost every single game. Or is it a match? I really don’t know. I just wanted to wear the tennis skirts and get out of class early to go to tennis matches.

That’s a brief history of my non-existing athletic ability. I probably picked up a tennis racket twice since I graduated. And dancing? I’d rather not. Looking back at the home videos of dance team competitions, I cringe at how very uncoordinated I was. Why was I even let on the dance team?! YIKES!!!

Since high school I haven’t been very active. Occasionally I will go to the gym. More often than not I come up with some pretty fab excuses not to go; it’s too cold/hot, I feel too fat in my gym clothes, I can’t find a matching pair of socks, my sports bra isn’t clean, I haven’t seen this episode of Keeping Up With The Kardashians for a third time yet, God invented liposuction for a reason, I’m too bloated from all the Nutella I just ate… I’ve come up with plenty of ’em. But after the last 10 pounds just recently “snuck up” on me and I reached a weight I promised myself I would never reach, I’ve decided there’s no more time for excuses. Bar none.

That is where the FitBit comes into play. When they first came out, I didn’t understand why people would want to wear that heinous looking thing. Seriously, nothing ruins a really cute outfit faster than wearing a FitBit on your wrist. I really despised the look of them until Ryan got one and started tracking his steps and calories burned. It was then I realized that maybe I could use a little extra help in the motivation department these days and thought that a FitBit could be just the ticket.

It’s been about a month now since I broke down and bought the FitBit Flex (only thanks to a hefty discounted price from my work). I was shocked at how many steps I DIDNT take in a day. My job is pretty sedentary, but I expected to get more than 2,000  steps in a day when the healthy average is 10,000. It was then I knew it was time to start squeezing a little more activity into my day.

I started making it a goal to hit 10,000 steps a day. That’s the average steps a healthy person takes in a day. It may seem like a lot, but by the end of day, I can usually have about 4,000 if I opt to take the stairs and not the elevator and if I can manage to squeeze a short walk into my lunch period. Then after work, I’ve been hitting up the gym for 30 minutes on the elliptical which typically gets me 5,000 steps. Then I rack up the last 1,000 from doing stuff around the house. Boom. 10,000 steps. I have to say, I get a huge smile every time I feel my wrist vibrate from reaching my goal. It may be my second favorite part of the day, after Starbucks, of course. What? You need some type of go-go-juice to get you moving!!

My overall thoughts about the FitBit: Besides the fact that the wristband is totally “blah”, I love it. It really helps me gauge my activity and calories burned throughout the day. It motivates me to reach my daily goal and it’s fun to compete against my friends and family who are also FitBit users.

Who would I recommend it to: Anyone who wants live a fit and healthy lifestyle who made just need an extra kick in the pants. Trust me, when you see that you only put on 4,000 miles for the day, you will want to lace up your tennis shoes and hit the gym.

Things that I would change: You can probably guess what I would change, huh? The wrist band. UGH. Thankfully, my BFF Tory Burch, came out with some fashion-forward accessories for the FitBit Flex (which I have), so I don’t have to ruin any more cute outfits with a sporty-wristband-thingy. I also wish it was waterproof. It’s a little deceiving that the commercial shows people doing all sorts of water activities yet it says to not get the FitBit wet. Like, waaaah? Fine. I guess I wont track my activity when I do fun and exciting water things (because I don’t). And lastly, I wish there was a way that the FitBit app on your phone would track your steps as well. There are often many days that I forget to put my FitBit on and then I’m stuck with no progress for the day. But I always, always, always have my phone on me. It would make perfect sense, no? Hey FitBit, get at me for some new features on your next edition! I’m here to help!!! 🙂

And just a little visual collage to make myself feel better about the ugly band… Celebrities, they’re just like us.

fitbits

Leave a Reply

