Weekly Fave’s

         Jessica Simpson is my spirit animal.

The air is finally cool outside! Scratch that, it’s cold as sh*t out and windy as all get out! It’s getting down to the 30’s at night and I’m already having anxiety over how I’m going to walk 1 mile into work every day when it’s below zero. Have I mentioned how I just looooove Wisconsin winters? Because I don’t. And to make matters worse, we’re going camping this weekend. In a tent. A. Tent. I don’t know what I did to warrant this type of activity but the husband says it will be fun. I’m sure it will be, babe. Super fun. No Starbucks or a Wi-Fi password? Sounds like a B-L-A-S-T. Cant wait. #sarcasm #takingonefortheteam #wheresthewine

So perhaps I’m not insanely stoked about a camping trip that involves a tent and below freezing temps in the wilderness and no real plumbing… But I do have a few things from this week that will mentally excite me when I’m laying on the ground of the forest…

Ready for a good story? A few weekends ago my dog got hungry and decided that my Gucci glasses were looking tasty and chewed them to bits. Tiny, little bits!  Now, I definitely was pissed but I learned a few things; 1) Don’t leave your glasses alone when you’re sleeping 2) Dogs are really cute and it’s hard to be mad at them 3) Cricket has good taste in designer eyewear.

With all of that being said – I now have new glasses on their way to me from Warby Parker. A pair of trendy, prescription glasses, with anti-scratch and anti-reflective coating for less $100? Yes! If Cricket decides to chomp on these, you can bet she’ll be on her way to the pound  it’s only a $95 loss instead of, oh, $400. #damndog

Warby Parker offers this awesome service of being able to send yourself 5 pairs of their glasses to try on for 5 days and then send them back totally free of charge. It’s how I was able to pick out this pair… The Simone in Tea Rose Fade. Totally different from anything I would’ve ever picked and was gambling when I picked them to try at home but they ended up being the winner. Eyeglasses - Simone in Tea Rose Fade

Did I mention for every pair you buy, they donate a pair to a person in need? You can read more about that HERE if you so choose. Quite frankly, knowing that my purchase goes to a good cause is why I went with them in the first place. Shopping for a cause has always been something that comes naturally to me. : )

If you’re not in the market for prescription glasses, they also offer an awesome variety of trendy sunglasses for men and women. Which may just be my next purchase. That is if I survive the woods and wildlife this weekend.

 

Bravo’s Below Deck is another favorite this week and pretty much always. It’s really the only show on tv the husband and I can agree to watch together which is totally fine with me. I love the cast with all the quirks and annoyingness that they must impose on each other. There’s really no way I could ever live in those small living quarters with someone like Rocky. Pretty she may be but her personality is.. Loud? Obnoxious? Annoying? Sometimes I think she’s hilarious, other times I want to ask her if she took her ADHD meds but I guess that’s what makes good television.

My favorite gal is Kate. She’s hilarious in a bitchy sort of way. I don’t think she really cares what anyone else thinks of her and I love that. Plus, her style is kind of amazing. Even though she’s working on a boat in the middle of the ocean she seems to look put together and fashionable. I guess I wouldn’t mind her job, traveling the world on a yacht and making a couple thousand dollars in tips for a couple days of being someone’s slave? Don’t sign me up just yet, but I’d be lying if I said I haven’t thought about quitting my job and becoming a stewardess on a yacht. Of course Ryan could come with a be a deckhand. I really think we could pull it off but then I remember we have a dog and I would rather be a guest on a yacht instead of working on it. So, nah.

My next up is something a little more “basic.” Any guesses?? Oh why yes, it is a coffee drink from Starbucks! They came out with PSL’s new best friend, Toasted Graham Latte, it is quite delicious but not something I could drink every day. I think one cup of this a season is good for me. To be honest, I think I’ve only had one PSL so far this season. There is something in that drink that really aggravates my Crohn’s Disease. It’s probably the caffeine but what’s a girl to do? Stop drinking it? That’s rubbish.

No Bake Energy Bites -- these delicious bites are perfect for breakfast, snacking, even dessert! | gimmesomeoven.com #vegan

I’m a huge fan of snacks. Specifically of the chocolate variety. I found these little “no bake” energy balls on Pinterest and I haven’t tried them yet but I am soooo going to make them when I get home from survive “camping.” Supposedly they’re healthy. Chocolate, peanut butter, coconut, honey and oatmeal just to name a few ingredients. Sounds super yummy and not at all compatible with the liquid diet my doctor put me on. Maybe I’ll just put all the ingredients into a NutriBullet and blend until smooth. What? It’s not like a girl can live off of Boost alone.

Well, I’m off to the wilderness with my Ugg boots, Lululemon leggings, Vogue and Starbucks Instant Coffee. I guess you could consider this “glamping.” I just hope I can pick up a Wi-Fi signal so I can continue to watch Scandal on Netflix. I will never quite understand why it’s fun to pretend you’re homeless.

 

Leave a Reply

